

Cost and Efficiency Neurology Technical Expert Panel, Spring 2019

TECHNICAL EXPERT PANEL MEMBERS

Ketan Bulsara, MD

Professor and Chief, Neurosurgery at the University of Connecticut Mansfield, Connecticut

Nominated by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons Dr. Ketan R. Bulsara is a board certified neurosurgeon dual fellowship trained in skull base/cerebrovascular microsurgery and endovascular neurosurgery. He is an associate professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Bulsara has won numerous awards from the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons. He has published three books and over 100 peer reviewed publications. He is the current president of the American Association of South Asian Neurosurgeons. He was appointed to serve on the AANS Maintenance of Certification/CME Committee and is the Vice Chair for the AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section.

James Burke, MD

University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Michigan

Dr. Burke is a vascular neurologist and health services researcher at the University of Michigan who completed health services research training through the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program and is currently an Anniversary Fellow at the National Academy of Medicine. His research interests include developing methods to better individualize treatment and diagnostic decisions, optimizing stroke systems of care and understanding racial disparities in post-stroke disability. His clinical practice includes general neurology clinic at the Ann Arbor VA and inpatient neurology at the University of Michigan.

Millie Hepburn, PhD, RN, SCRN, ACNS-BC

Assistant Professor, Pace University Pleasantville, New York

Dr. Millie Hepburn has over 36 years of clinical nursing experience. She is an advanced practice nurse, holds two master's degrees, a post master's degree, and a PhD. She is a known research scholar and was the first nurse in the US to receive a coveted translational research scholarship from Columbia University. She has received several awards over the years, from the American Stroke Association for her work in Stroke research and programming, Excellence in Clinical

Practice from Columbia University, and Johnson and Johnson's Tristate Nursing Spectrum Award for Mentoring. She is nursing faculty at Quinnipiac University and Pace University.

David Seidenwurm, MD

Quality & Safety Director, Sutter Health, Sutter Medical Group Sacramento, California

Dr. David Seidenwurm is a board-certified neuroradiologist in California. He is chair of the group-wide Quality Committee and the System Radiology Quality & Safety Director. Previously, he had been a neuroradiologist at Radiological Associates of Sacramento since 1991, and past Chairman of the Diagnostic Radiology Division. He has been working on measure development projects and quality committees since 1996. Dr. Seidenwurm has also published and/or collaborated on over 90 publications, as well as given over 60 presentations.